Skip to main content
Top of the Page

2005 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year

2005 ABCA/Diamond National Coaches of the Year

NCAA Div. I: Augie Garrido, Texas
NCAA Div. II: Pete Meyer, Florida Southern
NCAA Div. III: John Vodenlich, Wisconsin-Whitewater
NAIA: Denney Crabaugh, Oklahoma City
NJCAA Div. I: Ray Birmingham, New Mexico JC
NJCAA Div. II: Mike Cupples, Grand Rapids (MI)
NJCAA Div. III: Rob Valli, Gloucester County (NJ)
Pacific Association Division: Damon Neidlinger, Santa Rosa (CA)

High School Div. I: Jeff McClaskey, Northwest Rankin (MS)
High School Div. II (co-coaches): Kirk Bock, Harrison (AR) & Eric Kibler, Horizon (AZ)
High School Div. III: Rich Hofman, Westminster (FL)

2005 ABCA/Diamond NCAA Div. I Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
Atlantic Gary Gilmore Coastal Carolina SC
Central Wayne Graham Rice TX
East Paul Keyes Virginia Commonwealth VA
Mideast Richard "Itch" Jones Illinois IL
Midwest Augie Garrido Texas TX
Northeast Ed Blankmeyer St. John's NY
South Pat McMahon Florida FL
West Pat Casey Oregon State OR
2005 ABCA/Diamond NCAA Div. II Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
Central Darin Hendrickson Central Missouri State MO
North Atlantic Cal Bailey West Virginia State WV
North Central Steve Lyon Grand Valley State MI
Northeast Tim Shea Southern Connecticut State CT
South Pete Meyer Florida Southern FL
South Atlantic Dusty Rhodes North Florida FL
South Central Mike Kinnison Delta State MS
West Lindsay Meggs Chico State CA
2005 ABCA/Diamond NCAA Div. III Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
Central Joel Holst Wartburg IA
Mid-Atlantic John Cole Rowan NJ
Mideast Tim Pettorini Wooster OH
Midwest John Vodenlich Wisconsin-Whitewater WI
New England Bill Decker Trinity CT
New York Joe Brown SUNY Cortland NY
South Jeff Kinne Hampden-Sydney VA
West Tom Tereschuk Chapman CA
2005 ABCA/Diamond NAIA Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
I Ed Cheff Lewis-Clark State ID
II John Verhoeven Biola CA
III Scott Berry Mayville State ND
IV Adam Neisius Dakota Wesleyan SD
V Dan Griggs Benedictine KS
VI Nathan Blackwood Lubbock Christian TX
VI Denney Crabaugh Oklahoma City OK
VII Tony Delgado Saint Francis IL
VIII Greg Haeger Madonna MI
IX Tim Mead Walsh OH
X Scott Dulin Fisher MA
XI Woody Hunt Cumberland TN
XII Kevin Kocks Spalding KY
XIII Dave Altopp Lee TN
XIV Greg Guilliams Embry-Riddle FL
2005 ABCA/Diamond NJCAA Div. I Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
1 Todd Eastin South Mountain AZ
2 Roger Ward Northeastern Oklahoma A&M OK
4 Steve Ruzich South Suburban IL
5 Ray Birmingham New Mexico JC NM
6 Kyle Crookes Hutchinson KS
7 Ken Campbell Walters State TN
8 Dave Pano St. Petersburg FL
9 Scott Crampton Lamar CO
10 William Godwin Louisburg NC
11 Marc Rardin Iowa Western IA
14 James Mansinger Texarkana TX
15 Pete Alfano Briarcliffe NY
16 Martin Kilgore Maple Woods MO
17 Rick Robinson Young Harris GA
18 Mike Littlewood Dixie State UT
20 Doug Little Potomac State WV
22 Randy Puttman Wallace State AL
23 Jake Yarborough East Central MS
24 Mitch Hannahs Lincoln Trail IL
2005 ABCA/Diamond NJCAA Div. II Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
1 Tony Cirelli Mesa AZ
2 Kurt Russell Western Oklahoma State OK
3 Dudley Bailey Monroe NY
4 Bill Angelo Elgin IL
6 Steve Bartow Brown Mackie KS
10 Lind Hartsell Lenoir NY
11 Rick Pederson Iowa Central IA
12 Mike Cupples Grand Rapids MI
13 Mike Davenport Madison Area Technical WS
15 Pat Carey Rockland NY
16 Royce Teppett St. Louis-Forest Park MO
19 Johnny Johnson Brookdale NJ
21 Roger Bidwell Connecticut Avery Point CT
23 Keith Case Copiah Lincoln MS
24 Mitch Rosenthal Parkland IL
2005 ABCA/Diamond NJCAA Div. III Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
2 Phil Wilson North Arkansas AR
3 Joe Bauth Erie OH
4 Wayne King Joliet IL
5 Michael Martin Eastfield TX
12 Harry Caruso Columbus State OH
13 Dwight Kotila Ridgewater MN
15 Craig Everett Queensborough NY
19 Rob Valli Glouster County NJ
20 Mike Draghi Westmoreland County PA
21 Tom Frizzell Massasoit MA
2005 ABCA/Diamond High School Div. I Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
1 David Fouracre Brockton MA
2 Ray Korn Elizabeth NJ
3 Frank Permuy Gaither FL
4 Lane McCarter Houston TN
5 Denny Barton Urbandale IN
6 Jeff McClaskey Northwest Rankin MS
7 Gil Padilla Las Cruces NM
8 Jeff Carlson Elk Grove CA
2005 ABCA/Diamond High School Div. II Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
1 James Carrese Shenendehowa NY
2 Tim O'Brien Long Reach MD
3 Bobby Howard Columbus GA
4 Pat O'Neil Brownsburg IN
5 Lee Toole Lewis-Central IA
6 Kirk Bock Harrison AR
7 Eric Kibler Horizon AZ
8 Dennis Pugh Mission Bay CA
2005 ABCA/Diamond High School Div. III Regional Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
1 Brian Roy Canton CT
2 Tom Keating North Caroline MD
3 Rich Hofman Westminster Academy FL
4 Clark Wormsley Webb School of Knoxville TN
5 Tom O'Connell Burlington Catholic Central WI
6 Chris Counts Episcopal LA
7 Jon Hoover Cottonwood UT
8 Joseph Gallaty Hamilton City CA
Diamond Sports

About Diamond Sports

Diamond Sports designs and manufactures high quality baseball and softball products for all levels, while striving to inspire participation in baseball and softball with character, integrity and respect. Diamond Sports is based in Southern California and is proud to be the Official Ball of many great college conferences, as well as leagues, tournaments and organizations nationwide. Diamond is the Official Ball of the ABCA. You can find Diamond on the web at

About the ABCA
The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 15,000 members represent all 50 states and 41 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include nine divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School, Youth and Travel Baseball.
Back to Top