Skip to main content
Top of the Page

ABCA Dave Keilitz Ethics in Coaching Award

Headshot of Mark Brew in blue jersey and camo baseball hat with text 2024 Ethics in Coaching AwardThe ABCA Dave Keilitz Ethics in Coaching Award honors an individual who embodies the ABCA Code of Ethics. The American Baseball Coaches Association believes that the highest calling of a baseball coach is to teach life's lessons and model the character traits of honesty, integrity, respect and personal responsibility.

The Ethics in Coaching Award was named in honor of Dave Keilitz in 2017. Keilitz is the former Central Michigan University head coach and Athletic Director, a member of the ABCA Hall of Fame, the ABCA Board of Directors, and served as the ABCA's Executive Director from 1994-2014.

NOMINATIONS: To nominate a coach, please complete this online Ethics in Coaching Award Nomination Form or download the ABCA Dave Keilitz Ethics in Coaching Award Nomination Form (pdf). In addition to the nomination form, a biography of the nominee and two letters of recommendation must be e-mailed to ABCA Ethics in Coaching Committee Chair Tom O'Connell at [email protected] or physically mailed to the ABCA National Office at the address below by November 1 of any given year.

Attn: Ethics in Coaching Award
4101 Piedmont Pkwy
Greensboro, NC 27410

Ethics in Coaching Award Recipients:

2024 - Mark Brew, Lee University (TN)

2023 - Eric Kibler, Horizon High School (AZ)
2023 - Rich Maloney, Ball State University (IN)

2022 - Tom Walter, Wake Forest University (NC)

2021 - Ryan McGinnis, Kimberly High School (WI)
2021 - Lance Spigner, University of Arkansas Rich Mountain

2020 - Monte Brooks, The Master's University (CA)
2020 - Greg Frady, Georgia Dugout Club

2019 - Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt University (TN)
2019 - Pete Doumit, Big Bend C.C. (WA) 

2018 - Guy Anderson, Cordova High School (CA)
2018 - Mark Marquess, Stanford University (CA) 

2017 - Scott Berry, Mayville State University (ND) 

2016 - Dave Klontz, Heath High School (OH) 

2015 - Greg Hawk, Linn-Benton C.C. (OR)
2015 - David McDonald, Wheeler High School (GA) 

2014 - Fran O'Brien, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2013 - Pat Bailey, Oregon State University
2013 - Tim Saunders, Dublin Coffman High School (OH)

2012 - Stan Luketich, Desert Vista High School (AZ)

2011 - Steve Farley, Butler University (IN)
2011 - Sam Riggleman, Spring Arbor University (MI)

2010 - Gordie Gillespie, University of St. Francis (IL)
2010 - Jerry Novosel, West Middlesex High School (PA)

2009 - Mark Johnson, Texas A&M/Sam Houston State

Back to Top