ABCA Honor Award

The American Baseball Coaches Association's Honor Award is presented annually to individuals involved in baseball who have distinguished themselves and are recognized for achievements in their profession. The Honor Award has been presented annually at the ABCA Convention since 1973.


No Honor Award presented this year


A.J. Hinch, Houston Astros

Jim Abbott, Former MLB Pitcher

David Price, Boston Red Sox
John Smoltz, MLB Hall of Fame Inductee

Rob Manfred, MLB Commissioner-elect
Ned Yost, Kansas City Royals Manager

Tony La Russa, MLB Hall of Fame Inductee

Rawlings Sporting Goods

Mike Scioscia, Manager of the L.A. Angels of Anaheim
Dave Winfield, MLB Hall of Fame Inductee 

Jim Tracy, Manager of the Colorado Rockies

Drayton McLane, Owner & Chairman of the Houston Astros
Nolan Ryan, President of the Texas Rangers / MLB Hall of Fame Inductee
Jim Sundberg, Senior Executive V.P. of the Texas Rangers

Brad Brian, Attorney / Former All-Pac-8 Catcher
Donald Pries, Major League Baseball
Kevin Towers, General Manager of the San Diego Padres

Dale Petroskey, President of the National Baseball Hall of Fame

Terry Francona, Manager of the Boston Red Sox
Joe Garagiola Jr., General Manager of the Arizona Diamondbacks
George Toma, Hall of Fame Groundskeeper for MLB and NFL 

Roland Hemond, Executive for the Chicago White Sox
Terry Ryan, General Manager of the Minnesota Twins

Bruce Brown, Director of Proactive Coaching
Cal Ripken Jr., MLB Hall of Fame Inductee

Ben Davis, Former Major League Baseball Player 
Michael Josephson, Professional Speaker and Lecturer of Ethics

Tony Gwynn, MLB Hall Of Fame Inductee
Bob Murphy, Hall of Fame Sportscaster for the New York Mets

Pat Williams, Senior Vice President of the Orlando Magic 
Roy Krasik, Senior Director of MLB Operations

Sandy Alderson, CEO of the San Diego Padres
Dean & Kristi Jernigan, Owners of the Memphis Redbirds
J. Con Maloney Jr., Owner of the Jackson Mets

Steve Baker, President of NAIA
Dennis Hastert, 59th Speaker of the House of Representatives
Ed Lynch, Former MLB Pitcher and General Manager of the Chicago Cubs

John Grisham, Commissioner of Cove Creek Park (Va.)
Phil Niekro, MLB Hall of Fame Inductee
Robert S. Prather, Jr., CEO of Bull Coporation
Paul Snyder, Director of Souting & Player Development for the Atlanta Braves

Sparky Anderson, Former MLB Manager
Bill Bavasi, General Manager of the Anaheim Angels
John Moores, Owner of the San Diego Padres
Dr. Keith Richman, Physician & CEO for Medco Associates

Terry Collins, Manager of the Anaheim Angels
Dan Duquette, General Manager of the Boston Red Sox
Joe Macko, Visiting Clubhouse Manager for the Texas Rangers
Mike Spense, Utilities Executive

W.S. "Babe" Howard, Founder at Millington USA Stadium
Clinton "Butch" McCord, Tennessee State University
Larry Schmittou, President of the Nashville Sounds
Buck Showalter, Manager of the Arizona Diamondbacks

Sal Bando, Senior V.P. of Operations for the Milwaukee Brewers
Andy MacPhail, President of the Chicago Cubs
Hunter Rawlings, President at the University of Iowa

Robert Nakasone, CEO of Toys "R" Us
Aldo Notari, President of the Italian Baseball Federation
Dick Schultz, NCAA Executive Director

Jim Matthews, Scout for the St. Louis Cardinals
John Schuerholz, General Manager of the Atlanta Braves
Stan Ziomek, Amherst (Mass.) Youth Baseball

Dick Case, Executive Director of the United States Baseball Federation
George Schepps, Entrepreneur

John R. Anderluh, Moore North America
Phyllis Collins, Major League Baseball
Jim Easton, Easton Sports
Loren Matthews, ESPN

William Alhouse, Alhouse Realty, Inc.
Fred Claire, Los Angeles Dodgers
Jim Fowler, Mutual of Omaha
Dr. Stephen Korcheck, Manatee Community College (Fla.)

Dal Maxvill, St. Louis Cardinals
T. Allan McArtor, Chief Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration
Charley Pride, Minor League Baseball

Furman Bisher, Atlanta Sports Columnist
Dick Howser, Kansas City Baseball Club
Andrew Young, Mayer of the City of Atlanta
Lee Eilbracht, Retired ABCA Executive Director
Les Miller, Retired ABCA Assistant Executive Director

George Argvos
Monroe Clark
Gene DaCosse, Wilson Sporting Goods
Eddie Einhorn, White Sox Executive
Roland Hemond, MLB Executive
Joe Hicks, Former MLB Player
George Killian, NJCAA Executive Director
Dr. John Olerud, University of Washington professor
John Schuerholz, General Manager of the Kansas City Royals

Dr. Robert Brown, Former New York Yankees Player
Chalmers (Bump) Elliott, University of Iowa
Thomas McCleod Jr.
Andrew McKenna
Eddie Sapir, Lawyer
Sam Suplizio, Colorado Baseball Commission

Robert Culp, Actor
Lefty Gomez, Former MLB Player
Bill Lajoie, General Manager of the Detroit Tigers
Pee Wee Reese, Former Brooklyn & Los Angeles Dodgers Player
Haywood Sullivan, General Partner of the Boston Red Sox
Conway Twitty, Musician

Bobby Bragan, National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues
Robert Briner, TV Executive
Eddie Chiles, Owner of the Texas Rangers
John Hoyle
Keith Jackson, Sports Broadcaster
Dick Mullen
Al Rosen, Former Cleveland Indians Player
Ray VanCleef, Rutgers University

Jack Anderson
Gene Autry, California Angeles Owner
Raoul "Rod" Dedeaux, University of Southern California
Dick Enberg, Sportscaster
Ballard Smith, President of the San Diego Padres
Dr. Robert Smith, President of the International Baseball Federation
John Wathan, Kansas City Royals

Raymond "Bobby" Coombs, Former MLB Player
Glenn "Bud" Daniel, University of Wyoming
William Getz
Herbert Kokernot, Semi-professional baseball team owner
George Nelson
Isao (Dutch) Odachi, Japanese coach/interpreter
Paul Owens, MLB Executive
Gabe Paul, MLB Executive
George Petrol
CJ Thorton, Texas A&M University
Bobby Winkles, Arizona State University

Harry Figge, Jr., Rawlings Sporting Goods
James Flack
George (Eddie) Gilliland
George Steinbrenner, Managing Partner of the New York Yankees
Gustavo Vollmer
Fred Wilpon, Majority Owner of the New York Mets

George Bush, U.S. President
Jim Fanning, General Manager of the Montreal Expos
Bob Feller, Retired MLB Player
Robert Howsam, General Manager of the Cincinnati Reds
Margaret Keefe
Moon Landrieu, Mayor of New Orleans
Hank Leiber, Retired MLB Player

Al Campanis, General Manager of the Los Angeles Dodgers
Gordon Campbell
Tom Haller, Retired MLB Player
Ray Kroc, Owner of the San Diego Padres
Bill Priest, Philadelphia Athletics
Jack Shepard, Retired MLB Player

William (Billy) Hitchcock, President of the Southern League
Rolla McMullen
John Ogden, Retired MLB Player
CE (Pat) Olsen, Texas A&M University
William Rogers
Joe Wheeler Sewell, Retired MLB Player
Jeff Torborg, Former MLB Manager
RE (Ted) Turner, Owner of the Atlanta Braves

Julio Blanco Herrera
George Light, University of Miami
Fred Lindstrom, Retired MLB Player
Ernest McCool
George (Birdie) Tebbetts, Retired MLB Player & Manager
Carl Yastrzemski, Boston Red Sox

Richard Beurner
Alfred Buddle
Vaughan (Bing) Devine, MLB Executive
Paul Dunn
James Helein
Robert Hyland
Dr. James Lewis, Jr.
Ray Ripplemeyer, Former MLB Player

Herb Armstrong
Tim Lee Carter
Pete Domenici
Henry Louis Gehrig
Joseph Inglehart
Vice Adm. William Mack, USN
Paul McCloskey, Jr.
John McHale

John Bonner
Don Buford
Charles Geeney
Frank Fiscalini
MJ Frankovich
Jess Hill
Howard Hobson
Harry Hooper
Tom Kellefer
Stanley McCaffrey
Gordon Mallartratt
Edmund Morrissey
Wes Parker

John Allyn
Vernon Barkstall
Jack Dempsey
Leonard Johnson
Eugene McCarthy
Dr. Adolph Sahs
Russell Steger
John Wilson

NOMINATIONS: Those wishing to nominate an individual for the ABCA Honor Award should contact the ABCA National Office.