Skip to main content
Top of the Page

Get to Know the 2023 ABCA Officers

January 11, 2023

2022 ABCA Officers headshots - Rick Hitt, Jim Schlossnagle, Matt Noone, Bob Whalen, John McCormackThe conclusion of the annual ABCA Convention marks the transition of the association's officer positions for the new year. 32-year ABCA member Jim Schlossnagle, head coach at Texas A&M University, officially took over as the ABCA President on Friday, January 6 during the ABCA Convention. 

Schlossnagle will serve the entire 2023 calendar year as President of the association. He initially joined the ABCA Board of Directors while serving as the NCAA Div. I Chair before being elected by the ABCA membership to serve as ABCA Fourth Vice President in 2019. Since that time, Schlossnagle has served on the ABCA's Board of Directors and Executive Committee simultaneously while progressing through each Vice Presidential seat. As Second Vice President in 2021, Schlossnagle arranged all of the clinic speakers that presented at the 2022 ABCA Convention in Nashville.

In addition to Schlossnagle, each of the ABCA's current Vice Presidents moved up one seat while Jim Cahill, who was voted by the ABCA membership in Fall 2022 to serve as Fourth Vice President, officially stepped into his new role. In 2023, Second Vice President Bob Whalen (Dartmouth College) and Third Vice President John McCormack (Florida Atlantic University) are tasked with arranging the clinicians for the 2024 ABCA Convention scheduled for January 4-7 in Dallas!

Here's a look at all of the 2023 American Baseball Coaches Association Officers...

ABCA Board of Directors

The ABCA Board of Directors is the group in charge of leading the largest amateur baseball coaching association in the World. The mission of the Board of Directors, as outlined in the ABCA Bylaws, is to establish the policy and principles of conducting the affairs of the Association, act on Constitution and Bylaw revisions, adopt proposed budgets and oversee financial affairs of the Association and employ the ABCA staff to efficiently conduct the business of the organization. The Board of Directors meets four times annually, twice during the ABCA Convention and twice in June.

The ABCA Board of Directors consists of the following:

  • All Past ABCA Presidents

  • Current ABCA President
    • Jim Schlossnagle, Texas A&M University

  • Current ABCA Vice Presidents
    • First Vice President: Matt Noone, Babson College
    • Second Vice President: Bob Whalen, Dartmouth College
    • Third Vice President: John McCormack, Florida Atlantic University
    • Fourth Vice President: Jim Cahill, North Forsyth High School (GA)

  • Three Divisional Chairs from the ABCA Executive Committee
    • Rob Hahne, Westfield High School (VA)/Northern Virginia Travel Baseball League
    • Scott Laverty, Chapman University
    • Jeff Willis, LSU Eunice


ABCA Executive Committee

The ABCA Executive Committee is charged with reviewing the business and affairs of the Association and its committees in accordance with the policies of the Association and Board of Directors. In addition to the ABCA President, most recent Past President and all four Vice Presidents, each division within the ABCA is represented by a Chair on the Executive Committee. The Chairs hold their position for a three-year term and are eligible to be re-elected for a second three-year term. The Chairs run the annual divisional meetings at the ABCA Convention and recommend various business items and policies for action in their respective divisions. The Chair of the ABCA Diversity Committee also serves on the committee and focuses specifically on bringing forth recommendations for expanding minority opportunities within all levels of the sport. The group meets twice annually at the Convention and the committee elects three representatives from the Divisional Chairs to serve on the ABCA Board of Directors.

Multiple Divisional Chair votes were held at the 2023 ABCA Convention during the Thursday evening Divisional Coaches Meeting. Youth Baseball Chair Rob Hahne (Westfield High School), a 28-year ABCA member, and Travel Baseball Chair Taylor McCollough (Perfect Game), a four-year ABCA member, were re-elected to second terms as chairmen of their respective divisions. Jason Maxwell, a six-year ABCA member and head coach at Ensworth High School (TN), was elected to represent the high school membership as High School Divisional Chair. Maxwell replaces Jim Cahill of North Forsyth High School (GA), who was elected by the entire ABCA membership to serve as the association's Fourth Vice President in 2023. Additionally, 24-year ABCA member Chris Hanks was elected to represent NCAA Div. II. Hanks, head coach at Colorado Mesa University, replaces Tracy Archuleta as the NCAA Div. II Chair after Archuleta's institution (University of Southern Indiana) transitioned to NCAA Div. I status.

Junior College Division Chair Jeff Willis (LSU Eunice) was voted by the Executive Committee to serve on the ABCA Board of Directors. Willis joins Youth Division Chair Rob Hahne and NCAA Div. III Chair, Scott Laverty (Chapman University), as the three Divisional Chairs serving on both the Executive Committee and Board of Directors.

PositionFull NameOrganization
PresidentMatt NooneBabson College
First Vice PresidentBob WhalenDartmouth College
Second Vice PresidentJohn McCormackFlorida Atlantic University
Third Vice PresidentJim CahillNorth Forsyth High School (GA)
Fourth Vice PresidentKerrick JacksonUniversity Of Missouri
Immediate Past PresidentJim SchlossnagleTexas A&M University
Executive DirectorCraig KeilitzAmerican Baseball Coaches Association
NCAA Div. I ChairChris PollardDuke University
NCAA Div. II ChairChris HanksColorado Mesa University
NCAA Div. III ChairScott LavertyChapman University
NAIA ChairBrian WedeNorthwestern College (IA)
Junior College ChairJeff WillisLSU Eunice
High School ChairJason MaxwellEnsworth High School (TN)
Youth ChairRob HahneNVTBL
Travel Baseball ChairTaylor McColloughPerfect Game
Diversity ChairKerrick JacksonUniversity Of Missouri

ABCA Standing Committee

The ABCA Standing Committee assists in setting the association's budget and planning for the upcoming year, ensures Board meetings take place as outlined in the ABCA Constitution and represent the voting Board of Directors between regularly scheduled meetings. The group also evaluates the ABCA Staff annually. The committee is comprised of the Chairman of the Board, current ABCA President as well as First and Second Vice Presidents and three past ABCA Presidents selected by their peers on the Board of Directors. 

The committee meets twice annually, once at the ABCA Convention and once in June. The Chairman of the Board conducts the Standing Committee Meetings. The President and Vice President seats on the committee rotate annually. The terms of the Past Presidents on the Standing Committee are for three years, unless the elected member no longer serves as a member of the voting Board of Directors, and Past Presidents are eligible to be re-elected for one additional three-year term at the conclusion of the first term.

PositionFull NameOrganization
ChairJohn CaseyJohnson & Wales University
PresidentMatt NooneBabson College
First Vice PresidentBob WhalenDartmouth College
Second Vice PresidentJohn McCormackFlorida Atlantic University
Past PresidentDan McDonnellUniversity Of Louisville
Past PresidentJohn SchalyAshland University
Past PresidentRick HittSouth Florida State College
Back to Top