Lefty Gomez Award Committee

Duties: Select the recipient of the annual Lefty Gomez Award, sponsored by Wilson Sporting Goods Company. The award honors ABCA members and others who have made exceptional contributions to amateur baseball at all levels. See past ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award recipients.

Nominations: Those wishing to nominate an individual for the ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award should contact the ABCA national office by May 1. Nominations will need to include the necessary materials, including a complete biography and three letters of recommendation, which will be due by June 1. The ABCA national office will forward complete materials to committee chair, Bob Whalen, of Dartmouth College. Complete nominations received after the deadline will be considered for the following year.

Full NameOrganizationPositionEmail
Bob WhalenDartmouth CollegeChairrobert.d.whalen@dartmouth.edu
Chuck BoxHartfield Academy (MS)Committee Membercbox@hartfield.org
Pat DoyleInternational Sports GroupCommittee Memberdoylemlb@aol.com
Stu FritzHope CollegeCommittee Memberfritz@hope.edu
Dave GrantBrophy College Prep (AZ)Committee Memberphxgrants5@msn.com
Lance MarshallFranklin CollegeCommittee Memberlmarshall@franklincollege.edu
Chris PollardDuke UniversityCommittee Membercpollard@duaa.duke.edu
Gary VaughtUniversity of IndianapolisCommittee Membergaryvaught6@gmail.com
Lou YacinichGrand View UniversityCommittee Memberlyacinich@grandview.edu