ABCA Board of Directors unanimously approves addition of Diversity Chair to Executive Committee

February 2, 2021


Kerrick Jackson

The ABCA Board of Directors unanimously approved the addition of the ABCA's Diversity Committee Chair to serve on the ABCA Executive Committee in a vote during their January 2021 meetings last week. The ABCA's Diversity in Baseball Committee was formed to provide resources that promote Diversity in Baseball. The group's key initiatives are professional development and youth baseball advancement for minorities. The committee hosted an #ABCAatHOME Virtual Clinic on "The Black Experience: Searching for Relevance On and Off the Field in America's Pastime" this past July and presented during the 2021 ABCA Convention. The current Chair of the ABCA Diversity Committee is former Southern University head coach and current President of the MLB Draft League, Kerrick Jackson.

The ABCA Executive Committee is charged with reviewing the business and affairs of the Association and its committees in accordance with the policies of the Association and Board of Directors. This new position on the Executive Committee will focus on bringing forth recommendations for expanding minority opportunities within all levels of the sport.

In addition to the Diversity Committee Chair, the ABCA President, most recent Past President and all four Vice Presidents serve on the committee. Each division – NCAA Div. I, II & III, NAIA, Junior College, High School, Youth and Travel Baseball – is also represented by a Chair on the Executive Committee.

Chairs hold their position on the committee for a three-year term and are eligible to be re-elected for a second three-year term. The Chairs run the annual divisional meetings at the ABCA Convention and recommend various business items and policies for action in their respective divisions. The group meets twice annually at the Convention and the committee elects three representatives from the eight divisional chairs to serve on the ABCA Board of Directors.

2021 ABCA Executive Committee

PositionFull NameOrganization
PresidentRick HittSouth Florida State College
First Vice PresidentJim SchlossnagleTexas A&M University
Second Vice PresidentMatt NooneBabson College
Third Vice PresidentBob WhalenDartmouth College
Fourth Vice PresidentJohn McCormackFlorida Atlantic University
Immediate Past PresidentDan McDonnellUniversity Of Louisville
Executive DirectorCraig KeilitzAmerican Baseball Coaches Association
NCAA Div. I ChairChris PollardDuke University
NCAA Div. II ChairTracy ArchuletaUniversity Of Southern Indiana
NCAA Div. III ChairScott LavertyChapman University
NAIA ChairBrian WedeNorthwestern College (IA)
Junior College ChairJeff WillisLSU Eunice
High School ChairJim CahillNorth Forsyth High School (GA)
Youth ChairRob HahneWestfield High School (VA)
Travel Baseball ChairTaylor McColloughPerfect Game
Diversity ChairKerrick JacksonUniversity Of Memphis